TerraEarth Forums

Confessions of a Non-RPG player. /Your first RPG experience
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    TerraEarth Forums Forum Index -> General Gaming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ratty Randnums
Level 7: Raiden

Gems 2,115

PostRatty Randnums Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:06 pm   Post subject: Confessions of a Non-RPG player. /Your first RPG experience Reply with quote

Or rather I should say, a new RPG player.
As a kid turn based combat, whenever I encountered it, always made my head spin. It seemed overly complicated (I never had the instructions to look at for one thing) and, at a young age, really boring.
So I was never drawn to the RPG genera.
Recently however I was able to play through Symphony of the Night for the first time** and really enjoyed it's RPG elements.
I was curious over this (new to me) kind of challenge, finding and trying new equipment, engrossing storyline etc, So I started playing FF9 (because it was the first old school-flavor RPG I could borrow) and I really really like it so far.

I look forward to exploring the genera to it's fullest but my question to you is, what was your first RPG experience? What got you hooked? And aside from the trilogy, what games do you still love to play through today?

PS- I know there are many RPGs that do not use turn based combat. The "Tales of" series for example.

**Except for 15 hours in "Circle of the Moon" before losing my game, I had only ever played the old school CV games, which after playing a little of the other various SOTN clones I still prefer on the whole.
Freedan
Level 19: Soul Blazer

Resident

Gems 10,167

PostFreedan Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:14 pm   Post subject: Reply with quote