TerraEarth Forums

Blackberry Vs. Android

Post new topic   Reply to topic    TerraEarth Forums Forum Index -> Interests Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jason Tandro
The Undying TE Fanatic

Level 20: Guardian of Pandora

Gems 8,090
Location: Tiptoeing the line between confidence and arrogance.

PostJason Tandro Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:14 pm   Post subject: Blackberry Vs. Android Reply with quote

Ah, the time has come for me to impart my wisdom and settle an age-old dispute. Now I have no personal experience with iPhone, so I can't give reliable info on that, but I have worked hands on with Blackberry and Android phones are part of my job. The debate will rage on as to which platform is better; with Android users thinking that the Android OS is superior and the Blackberry users being wrong.

Well that's my opinion summed up in a sentence isn't it? Laughing

But in all seriousness I am biased towards Android and will never use a Blackberry if I can help it. However each platform has its strengths and weaknesses and I'd like to go ahead and present both for you.

Round 1: Blackberry Bold 9930 vs. Motorola Droid X2

Our first round pits the best that Blackberry has to offer with one of the best that Android has to offer (in 3G service, I am not including 4G devices in this demonstration).

The Blackberry Bold 9930, I have to admit, is the one Blackberry that has forced me to reconsider my stance on Blackberry's and if I was going to switch to a Blackberry this would be it. It's got numerous features of highly refined control that makes Blackberry users ecstatic.

The Droid X2, on the other hand, features the power of Android 2.3 OS and a dual-core processor, complete with an HDMI "mirror mode" allowing you to connect your phone to an HDTV.

Let's pit the two together and see who wins:

User Interface:
Blackberry: QWERTY + touch screen.
Android: Touch screen only.

Advantage: Blackberry

Processor:
Blackberry: 1.2 Ghz with dedicated graphics gpu.