TerraEarth Forums

Whats all the hype
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Capitan Failure
Level 1: Huball

Gems 45

PostCapitan Failure Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:09 am   Post subject: Whats all the hype Reply with quote

Hi all, Im new to Terranigma and Terra Earth.

I was delighted to descover the existence of this game recently, as growing up I was a huge fan of Illusion of Gaia, and as a teenager I found Soul Blazer on a lonely game shelf at a closing sale, only to discover that the two were attached when I reached the first boss.

But I never knew about Terranigma. So when I finally discover it I am more excited because reviewers are unanimous that it is an amazing game. I have heard some say it has the best music of any game of all time, best graphics of the Gaia series, etc etc.

But playing the game so far I have been disappointed, granted I am not too far into the overworld yet.. First of all, there is no question this game is not even in the competition for best music, the soundtrack is great, but not even slightly in comparison with with the greats (FF6 comes to mind).

Sorry, had to get that out of the way, not trying to troll.

But the other disapointment I have is the graphics, again they are pretty good, but no where near as good as its predecessor. Everthing is static, while in Illusion of Gaia everything was dynamic, hair and clothing blew in the wind, Wills flute spun amazingly, while Ark has some bland motion graphic to represent his block.

Other than that the story hasnt been very engaging so far, and the gameplay is kinda uninspired. Im not giving up on it yet though, if so many people love it so much, there has to be a reason. Anyone have any ideas why I am feeling a little let down, and maybe let me know when the game starts to get really good?
EverPhoenix
Level 19: Soul Blazer

Resident

Gems 8,804

PostEverPhoenix Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 11:38 am   Post subject: Reply with quote